Working and teaching in the United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates, sometimes called the Emirates is a federal absolute monarchy at the southeast end of the Arabian Peninsula. In 2013, the UAE’s population was 9.2 million of which 1.4 million are Emirati citizens and 7.8 million expatriate workers.
The country is a federation of seven emirates, and was established on 2 December 1971. The constituent emirates are Abu Dhabi(which serves as the capital), Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Quwain.
Each emirate is governed by an absolute monarch; together, they jointly form the Federal Supreme Council. One of the monarchs (traditionally always the Emir of Abu Dhabi) is selected as the President of the United Arab Emirates. Islam is the official religion of the UAE.[11]
The UAE’s oil reserves are the seventh-largest in the world while its natural gas reserves are the world’s seventeenth-largest.[12][13]Sheikh Zayed, ruler of Abu Dhabi and the first President of the UAE, oversaw the development of the Emirates and steered oil revenues into healthcare, education and infrastructure.[14] The UAE’s economy is the most diversified in the Gulf Cooperation Council, while its most populous city of Dubai is an important global city and an international aviation hub.
Quick Facts:
President: Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan
Capital City: Abu Dhabi
International dialling code: +971
Currency: United Arab Emirates dirham (AED or Dhs)
Population: 9.206 million (2013)